Perfect Solitude

Have you ever wondered how many people in the whole world are doing the same thing as you at any given moment?

I thought about that this afternoon while I was making dinner. “How many people in the world are preparing food right now?”

And I thought about it a few days ago when a friend and his wife were in the ER because she’s pregnant and had blood clots in her lungs. They were waiting to find out if an emergency C-Section would have to be performed. “How many people in the world are sweating over a significant decision in the ER right now?”

Sometimes, I get lucky and think with some degree of confidence that I could be the only person in the whole world doing what I’m doing. It’s one of my favorite experiences.

Have you ever wondered about this? I can’t imagine I’m the only person who has given thought to this idea.

Here’s a photo from one of the more recent times I’ve felt perfectly alone in what I was doing– dancing on the boardwalk of an old fish cannery on the Kenai Peninsula of Alaska. With the exception of my Grandma and Sharon, a family friend, only a few birds and an otter saw this.

Epic pose at the cannery

Stay safe, and be good to each other.

4 thoughts on “Perfect Solitude

Leave a Reply

