The Post-9/11 Generation and the death of Osama bin Laden

Earlier this week, I was watching a video clip of a bunch of young college kids loudly cheering and celebrating the death of Osama bin Laden in Washington, D.C. I hoped the cheering came from a sense of relief, because celebrating the murder of another human– no matter the situation or how “justified”– is a disgusting idea to me.

It dawned on me that even a senior in college this year would have been only 11 or 12 years old on September 11, 2001. Essentially, their entire developmentally-critical time of life has been defined by the cultural, political religious and military fallout of that tragedy. I was 15 at the time, but I feel as though the significance of those 3 years are critical in understanding the differences between my generation and the one that arguably started when the towers fell.

I’ve been chewing on the idea that people who are exactly my age likely see the war, the world, terrorism, and the future of all of the above slightly differently than both the older generations and those only a couple years younger. After all, 9/11 happened just as all of our worlds were thrown upside-down by hormones and genetics. Am I crazy to think this?

I have no answers, and will be thinking about this more and more, I’m sure. What do you think?

Stay safe, and be good to each other.

3 thoughts on “The Post-9/11 Generation and the death of Osama bin Laden

  1. Ian,

    Excellent commentary. I agree with your analysis, being apart of this “younger” generation you are referring to.

  2. I guess I’m thankful that I was at the tail end of the group of Americans that weren’t forced to identify our national flag with the precepts of a small but powerful sect of the Republican Party, Christian Fundamentalism (The Christian Right), and an empty set of words like “freedom” and “liberty”.

    I’ve been longing for the American flag of the mid-to-late 1990s, as bastardized and pimped out as it was.

Leave a Reply

