Luther and the World Today

As it’s nearly 2 a.m. and I’m giving the sermon at my church in a mere 7 hours, I’ll make this a shortened version of a longer post I intend to make.

I’m reading a book called The Luther Legacy: An introduction to Luther’s Life and Thought for Today by George Wolfgang Forell. It examines the weight and depth of Luther’s reformation of the church, and criticisms of the Catholic church of his day for not being catholic enough (a criticism which is certainly still true today).

In it, I found a snippet from Luther’s 1523 book, That Jesus Christ Was Born a Jew which speaks loudly to me, and I don’t think it’s because I have met a number of real blockhead lay “preachers” all over Wasilla. In it, he wrote that “If I had been a Jew and had seen such dolts and blockheads govern and teach the Christian faith, I would sooner have become a hog than a Christian.”

Additionally, Forell posits that “Only a church that is willing to be reformed today can honestly claim Luther as its reformer.”

That statement would shake up a lot of blockhead Lutheran pastors, congregations, and organizations, methinks.

Stay safe, and be good to each other.

Leave a Reply

