Saturday Morning Special

I am absolutely kicking myself for not having a picture-taking device with me earlier today.

Around 9:45 a.m., I took off to go to rehearsal for the Christmas program, and the sun was just starting to come up over the mountains. It’s cold enough right now that a layer of shiny snow crystals is plastered on every branch of every tree. Organic material looks brilliant and cold.

As the sun was coming up, the mountains and trees were a purely reflective white, kind of sparkling. The sky displayed beautiful clusters of pink and turquoise. When I say the sky was pink and turquoise, I mean it was PINK and TURQUOISE… not a mere resemblance, but a brilliant, bright, wonderful set of colors.

When I pulled up to the church, I got out of my car and walked up beside an elderly woman in the congregation. We looked at the sky together in silence.

It was almost a perfect moment.

Then she spoke, “Don’t you sometimes feel like you’re living inside a painting?”

“It doesn’t happen very often, but it’s worth the wait every time”, I replied. She nodded.

It was a perfect moment.

3 thoughts on “Saturday Morning Special

Leave a Reply

